Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Please Improve My Slow User Defined Function, Excel 2010 VBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

ceddins

Technical User
Jan 25, 2011
US
Good morning, all.

I'm somewhat new to VBA, so I need your expert help with something. I have a UDF that looks for a Unique ID (quote number) in a range/array and returns all the corresponding 3-letter codes into a single cell. I only want each 3-letter code to be returned once even though there will be many occurrences of each.

I think the slowest part of the code is in the beginning section that I've marked with a comment.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Here's the code:

Option Base 1
Option Explicit

Public Function MHC(QuoteNumber As Range)

Dim QuoteNumStart As Integer
Dim QuoteNumCount As Integer
Dim MrkPrFxRng As Range
Dim QuoteNumTrim()
Dim x
Dim xCounter
xCounter = 0
'Fill QuoteNumTrim with values in the "QuoteNum_ColRef" range
'this is the section of code that could use the most improvement
For x = 1 To ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("MRDW group pickup").Range("QuoteNum_ColRef").Count Step 1
xCounter = xCounter + 1
ReDim Preserve QuoteNumTrim(xCounter)
QuoteNumTrim(x) = Trim(ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("MRDW group pickup").Range("QuoteNum_ColRef")(x, 1))
Next

'Find the first occurrence of the quote number
QuoteNumStart = Application.WorksheetFunction.Match(QuoteNumber, QuoteNumTrim, 0) + 1

'Count the number of times that quote number is found and assign it to QuoteNumCount
Set x = Nothing
Set xCounter = Nothing
xCounter = 0
For x = 1 To UBound(QuoteNumTrim) Step 1
If QuoteNumTrim(x) = QuoteNumber Then
xCounter = xCounter + 1
End If
Next
QuoteNumCount = xCounter

'Find Market Prefix name column