Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PLEASE HELP - What's the best way to create custom 3D product images b

Status
Not open for further replies.

eva4

Instructor
Feb 22, 2011
AU
Hi all,

any help or comment would be much appreciated! This is quite urgent.

I'm a designer doing some research.. so totally have no clue which technology is best to use for this sort of thing! will get a programmer involved later however need some sort of direction!

We have this idea of building an eccomerce site for a client, for various items, for example, a car. and there are lots of different textures, colours, patterns they want to appear in the image as the user selects this.

They only have photos of the original car, with various mirrors, wheels etc. but they want to be able to put all the different textures on the interior and exterior etc.

Is there a way to do this without have to make a 3D model? or is that the best way to do it?

Are there any java or flash script which can map the image across a 3D object yet still look realistic?

e.g. I found with zazzle.com.au - you can upload your own image, or text and it automatically "wraps" it around the object in a particular spot and is adjustable as well.

see:
How did they do this? It's amazing.

However I don't need it to be that amazing with user loading images and all, I just need the ability to be able to add the texture on with pre-set amount of styles and textures.

PLEASE HELP! any off the top of your head ideas welcome.

Ok the first thing is to use a nice and vary flexible client and server side language.