Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

please help!!! w/ Access 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

hkvanx

Technical User
Jun 3, 2002
US
I want to reset the autonumber function in an existing Access database, preferably in a procedure that does not require any sort of programming (I am not a programmer). If the procedure does require some programming, please provide some helpful insight.

As of right now, the steps that I have been give by another person from my dept is not working. The instructions are listed below:

-select tools (menu) and check display database window, close and reopen program.
-select targeted table and open it in design view
-select autonumber cell and change it to text, save program
-Then select same cell and change it back to autonumber to save program

After following these directions, I received a pop-up window with the following message:

"Once you enter data in a table, you cannot change the data type of any field in the autonumber, even if you have not added data to that field. Add a new field to the table and define it as autonumber."

THX

BTW, I want to delete existing records permanently and have new records begin with 1, etc.

Hkvanx

1)Create a make table query including all the columns from the original table except the autonumber column.
2)Run the query.
3)Open the new table in design mode and add a new column designating it as the autonumber field and save the table.

If you want the records in a specfic order prior to renumbering, then when you create the query use the sort order options.

Note: if other tables use this value as a foreign key that valid connection will be lost.

Good Luck
ssecca