Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Please Help, New to IP's, Gateways, and Subnets.

Status
Not open for further replies.

hydroron

Technical User
Apr 9, 2002
US
Hi, I've been trying to figure out some questions that are probably simple but can't seem to find the answers i'm looking for. I have a cable internet connection, a linksys 8 port router and 3 Dell servers that I plan to host websites on. I'm just beginning to try to use them. The main things I don't understand is all these numbers.
I have a static IP address from my ISP and they also gave me the subnet mask, gateway, 2 DNS servers, domain and host. My first question is if i'm running my own servers at my own location, do I need all of that info my ISP gave me since the 2 DNS servers they listed are theirs? My router also asks for that info but do I enter what my ISP gave me or what my servers will be? The same thing in the kickstart program for my Powerapp.120 Dell server, it also asks for that info. I have a domain name with network solutions and changed the DNS to what I plan to use on my server but I get confused because when I change that, it makes the DNS my IP address my ISP gave me, is this right? I'm not sure what info of theirs i'm suppost to use and where and what info on mine to use and where. As much help as anyone can give would be great.
Thanks again, Ron