Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PIX 501 - Newbie Help - ADSL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Riteon

Technical User
Jan 14, 2002
GB
Hi group, I am very new to this and have purchased a pix 501 to protect a small network I manage.

Currently we connect our LAN to Bt Openworld using ADSL with NAT and I wanted to improve the security of our network by putting a PIX501 between our hub and the adsl box.

I have tried plugging the PIX501 via the '0' port to the ADSL box and the 0 light, lights up. I then took a lead out of our hub and placed that into port 1 of the 501 - rebooted the PC's but I couldn't get them to have access to e-mail or the internet.

Existing settings

(Just using the ADSL box and a hub, before I bought the PIX501) my pc and the other pc's defaultly have these settings

1. an ip address of 192.168.254.?? (this varies on reboot) 2. gateway of 192.168.254.254 (always the same)
3. subnet mask 255.255.255.0

What I need to know is how can I change the default settings below so that I can start using the firewall (basically) with my existing network.

In the future (ideally now) I wish to prevent certain PC's on the network having Web access but allow them mail access - but i probably need to understand the basics first. (I suppose I would have to give them static IP addresses if I was to have policies for certain PC's??)

I have enclosed my settings file for you to have a look at:-

clear config all
interface ethernet0 10baset
interface ethernet1 10full
ip address outside dhcp setroute
ip address inside 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
nat1 0.0.0.0. 0.0.0.0. 0 0
global 1 interface
http server enable
http 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 inside