Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PHP or .NET? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

hapax

Programmer
Nov 10, 2006
US
I'm fairly new to web development. I want to choose a web platform for a new small project. I know some .NET but I don't know much about PHP.

For those of you who are familiar with both .NET and PHP, I have a general question:

What advantages does PHP offer? Why should I choose it over .NET and the Microsoft way of doing things?

(I'm not trying to troll here - I really want to learn about this.)

Thanks

hmm the obvious one is that PHP is an open standard & can run on may diferent server platforms
Linux, Windows, BSD
Apache IIs

which means code should be protable should you decide to change hosts.

Also, unlike .NET, PHP is free. Under the Open Source Conventions. Also, you can find many free tools to help you develop in PHP.

With NET, you are pretty much stuck with Microsoft's costly development environment.

----------------------------------
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point:
Unknown has caused an Unknown Error on Unknown and must be shutdown to prevent damage to Unknown.

So, price aside, is there any technical or operational advantages for PHP?

Steam Engine Prints

that's a more interesting question, johnwm.

a key difference to me is that php is a largely encapsulated language. everything you need to do is within the php realm: install & go, so to speak. this maintains a consistent interface style, which has a value.