Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Phone model not showing after firmware install

Status
Not open for further replies.

dudecrush

IS-IT--Management
Apr 2, 2007
US
I'm a Cisco newbie. My Callmanager is Version 9.1.2.12900-11.

We received a couple of DX70's from Cisco to play around with, and my boss wants to test them. I downloaded the firmware from Cisco's site, and uploaded the firmware successfully on the Pub and both Sub's. I restarted the TFTP service on all 3. When I go to Device > Device Settings > Device Defaults I don't see the DX70 listed. If I go to the firmware load information, the phones aren't listed either.

1) Once firmware is loaded, do you have to reboot the Pub and Sub's to see the phone listed?
2) Isn't there a better way than a reboot? Should I restart any other services?

You need to install the device pack that has the DX70 in it. Which requires a restart of the cluster. And it updates all the firmwares to whatever version it is. So be careful.

Certifications:
A+
Network+
CCENT
CCNA Voice
TVOICE
CAPPS

gnrslash4life,

Thanks. I'm going to reboot my CM's this week. I was going to do it over the weekend, but I was unable to VPN in from home.

Speaking of firmware upgrades, I recently installed the upgraded software package for an ATA190. According to the idiot notes, I had to restart the TFTP service on the Pub and Sub's, then restart the ATA 190. Supposedly, the ATA should pick up the new software being pushed to it from Call Manager. That said, a reboot of the ATA had no effect - it's still running the same version as before. Is there a "trick" to getting ATA's or phones or whatever to update the software?