Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Permissions...is this possible

Status
Not open for further replies.

scc

Programmer
Apr 30, 2001
US
Okay, first want to say I'm an app developer, not a network person. So I'm a bit out of my league here, but bottom line I have to support the app, and permissions affect whether the app runs or not. Just went through 24 hours of the app being down because network changed permissions.

Here's my question. Can I have a folder on the server that a group can write to/change, but not allow the user to be able to maneuver there through Windows Explorer and open (or even see) the files?

The write to/change (MS Word creates a document from a template and then does a 'save as') is all done by the application. However, once a file is created, I don't want the users to be able to go through Windows Explorer to get to any of the documents in the folder where they are stored.

Hope that makes sense. Bottom line, users have to be able the write/change a Word document via an application, but outside of the application I don't want them to be able to even read the Word document.

TIA

HI Scc

I personally dont think that this is possible, my only thought it so your program calls the Windows 2k / XP RunAs command, and does all the read/writing to the share using a user that has access to the drive (adminstrator or power user).

e.g. the users logs in as "auser", with no access to the Word files on the share. In you application you call the RunAs command to read / write to the share. When the users closes your app the rights are lost and they cant access the files again.

I dont know if it is possible to do this but just a thought.

Hope it helps

paul