Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

perl server output to client

Status
Not open for further replies.

piperent

Programmer
Feb 7, 2002
US
I'm new to Perl and have a simple server running under SCO 5.0.5. All this server does is wait for a client to connect and then sends a short text message back to the client. As long as I only send a brief 'hard-coded' message back to the client, everything works as expected.

My question is, how do you re-direct or pipe output from a Unix command back over to the client. I can use a 'system' command to execute a 'cat fileA', but the output only goes to STDOUT. What am I missing?

This is the server code:

Code:
# use port 7890 as default
my $port = shift || 7890;
my $proto = getprotobyname('tcp');
# create a socket, make it reusable
socket(SERVER, PF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, $proto)
        or die "socket: $!";
setsockopt(SERVER, SOL_SOCKET, SO_REUSEADDR, 1)
        or die "setsock: $!";
# grab a port on this machine
my $paddr = sockaddr_in($port, INADDR_ANY);
# bind to a port, then listen
bind(SERVER, $paddr)      or die "bind: $!";
listen(SERVER, SOMAXCONN) or die "listen: $!";
print "SERVER started on port $port\n";
# for each connection...

my $client_addr;

while ($client_addr = accept(CLIENT, SERVER)) {
    # find out who connected
    my ($client_port, $client_ip) =
                     sockaddr_in($client_addr);
    my $client_ipnum = inet_ntoa($client_ip);
    my $client_host =
             gethostbyaddr($client_ip, AF_INET);
    # tell who connected
    print "got a connection from: $client_host",
    #print "got a connection from: ",
          " [$client_ipnum]\n";
   # sent them a message, close connection

[purple]