Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Perl job failing on UNLESS command 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

djbjr

Programmer
Dec 7, 2001
US
Probably a poor subject line but I really dont know what I am doing. I am an Oracle developer that has inherited a 9 year old Perl script that moves files and kicks off Sql*Loader scripts.

We are moving off of Unix and on to Linux and this script is acting crazy now. I wonder if any of you guys can help me out.

My script is failing on the following piece of the script

Code:
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Make sure input load file exists and has trailer
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# unless (-e "$hrdat/inproc/$filename")
unless ( `[ -f "$hrdat/inproc/$filename" ] && echo 0`)
{
     &fatal_error("ERROR - Cannot find file $hrdat/inproc/$filename");
}
     $file_fnd = 1;

I am assuming it is checking to see that the file exists which it does and I am pretty sure that it is looking in the right place because when I get the error message I see the following

Code:
hr_load 08/23/106 13:13:37  ps_dep_ben_eff.data Processing FILE-ID: ps_dep_ben_eff.data, FILENAME:
hr_load 08/23/106 13:13:37  ps_dep_ben_eff.data ERROR - Cannot find file /usr/local/hr/slot/dat/inproc/
hr_load 08/23/106 13:13:37  ps_dep_ben_eff.data UNSUCCESSFUL END

The file is located in /usr/local/hr/slot/date/inproc/ps_dep_ben_eff.data and the file is read/write for all users. Any suggestions of what might be going on here?