Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Performing non bound field calculations in a form

Status
Not open for further replies.

mondeoman

MIS
Dec 7, 2006
GB
I am fairly new to VB although have some experience with VBA in access. I have a form with a subform. This is based on a table called WorkDetails. The sub form is datasheet view. In the subform I have a start time (Start) field and a finish time (Finish) field. The field data typr for both is time(7) which give say a result of 10:35:00. What I want is to show the time elapsed between these two fields in hours and minutes (and a non visible field on total minutes). In access I would convert using Datediff with something like
Code:
"=DateDiff("n",[Start],[Finish])"
. I would then use something like this code to make the conversion and formating:
Code:
"=[txtTotalMinutes]\60 & Format([txtTotalMinutes] Mod 60,"\:00")"
. I have absolutely no idea how to go about this in a VB windows form can someone help please?

Code:
Dim StartTime As DateTime = '<put your field here>
Dim EndTime As DateTime = '<put your end field here>
Dim TimeDiff As TimeSpan

TimeDiff = EndTime.Subtract(StartTime)

-I hate Microsoft!
-Forever and always forward.
-My kingdom for a edit button!

Thanks Sorwen. I think I have got myself a bit muddled. Given that this is part of a subfrm and in datasheet mode. Where do I put this? I have attached a gif image to try and explain what I am trying to do. Being new at this some simple feedthrough would be very welcome and helpful.

http://www.box.net/shared/fc9utj2rah