Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Peer review 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

PatrickIRL

Programmer
Jun 25, 2003
Hi all,

I'm a contractor and I'm working very closely with a project manager who's also a contractor.

He's asked me to do a peer review of him in the next week or so. I've never done this before and I've no idea what to put in or how to get started.

Can anyone give me pointers in the right direction??

Thanks in advance,

Patrick

redsmooth

From my experience...
- Peer review is confidential. The person you are reviewing should not see your inout.
- Did you not get a form or email from your project manager's boss or his HR department? Surely, they do not expect you to come up with your one devices for this. Hmmm 3 sentences, 10 pages, something in between? If you hvae not received a form, ask your project manager for a name to follow up on.

BTW, you may be in a tough position. As a contractor of a contractor, your feedback may be fairly easily determined. This may make you vulnerable if you have some discussion points. Next stop on Tek-Tips, perhaps...
Information Technology Ethics in the Workplace Forum

redsmooth,
I agree with willir that some guidance (a standard HR form perhaps) should be provided regarding what the PM wants in the review.

However, I disagree with the peer review being confidential. How is the PM supposed to know how they're doing if people aren't willing to provide feedback. If your feedback is honest, and you can back it up with specific examples, then its worth using in a review. If you're not willing to give the feedback to the person, then you shouldn't be writing it in a review.