Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

pcanywhere configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

itcons

Technical User
Apr 12, 2004
US
Hello all, I'm a newbie to Pcanywhere 10.5. I need some help on configuration. I read the manual, but still have a little trouble. Hope someone can help, I would greatly appreciate it!

My computer will be acting as the host. I already created a connection tab & configured it for my tcp/ip. I double clicked the host icon & it displayed my ip in the status window. Now this is where I need help.

Setting up a caller
I created a caller, but i do not know what to enter in the Identification tab (login,password). Is this the same login used to bootup xp?

My second problem is configuring the remote
I created a remote, set it as tcp/ip. Now i need to edit the settings and enter the "Network host IP address". (Is this the IP I obtained earlier?)

Now on the remote computer... do I perform the exact tasks I did on the host in order for the connection to work?

Thank you all in advance for your help!

Hey...

I assume you want to connect via tcp/ip.

On the host PC, start of pcanywhere and go into the hosts section. Edit the network entry. Go to the callers tab and creat a pcanhwere user. This user can be anything as it is not related to the windows users.

Double click the network entry to start it.

Now connecting to it... there are plenty of "depends" here. Is the host a home pc that you are connecting to? Is your home network behind a firewall? If you are not behind a firwall then from the remote pc enter the IP of the host. If you are behind the firwall you will not only have to open some ports, but also setup a NAT entry.