Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Payroll database design

Status
Not open for further replies.

lrumd

Technical User
Sep 5, 2002
US
I am kinda new with Relationships and subforms, and would appreciate some help.

I am designing a database for payroll in my office. The reason I am doing this is people do not understand the difference between 6:20 (6 hours and 20 minutes) AND 6.2. They add up hours:minutes to hours.decimals and get upset when their paycheck is not what they expected.
The second reason I am doing this, is to keep track of vacation days and overtime not paid (which the employee can later use as time off (1.5 hours off for each overtime hour)). This second point is really secondary at this moment.

The idea is to have the employee enter everyday his/her TimeIn, TimeOut and TimeAtLunch in order to later calculate the number of hours worked. So at some point I will have to create a Form for data input. Not a major issue yet.

I would like to display in a Form (available to me only) the Payroll Date (which I will call PPE, for "Pay Period Ending...") in a drop down box, so I could go back and look at information from previous payrolls. In a SUBFORM I would like to list every employee with their calculated values (RegularHoursWk1, RegularHoursWk2, OverTimeWk1, OverTimeWk2) for the PPE selected. I will then manually enter these calculated values into Peachtree Accounting, to print the checks (I do not intend for this Access database App to do the whole thing) We are talking about 12 employees only.

I have thought about the following tables and fields, but any input will be greatly appreciated.

Employees
EmployeeID Auto Number (index)
SSN Number
LastName Text