Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

patterns and object orientation in classic asp?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

goaway1234

Programmer
Jun 2, 2004
US
I am a programmer on a rather large, old, and ugly asp web application, which uses oracle, msxml, and ado. This is a 'project in crisis' as it has become extremely difficult to maintain. Much of it is spaghetti code, and its original developers had no idea what the word 'modular' means. And to make matters worse, there is lots of new development coming down the road.

I know a bit about OO design and would like to take the application in that direction but can't make any progress because the language and its associated tools suck so awfully badly. Can anybody offer any advice on how to bring sanity to such a mess. I want to make sure that I've examined every angle before recommending a transition to .NET.

Given the amount of refactoring you will have to do to get it into a fit state to start making modifications, you might be better off with a clean slate on .NET (2.0?). Tools like NUnit, NAnt, FXCop, and the more modern IDEs of VS.NET will make your life a lot easier, not to mention improving your code quality.

Furthermore, if you foresee a lot of new development, it makes sense to do it on a platform that is actively being developed and supported by the vendor.