Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Patindex to filter table 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnpienaar

Technical User
Jun 23, 2004
ZA
Hi
I've got a huge (couple of million rows) table with a field called 'Main_Name' which is essentially the surname(last name) field- what I would like to do is display all the rows where Main_Name does not have any alphabetic characters eg where the field is equal to '^54' or '.,.;'
i'm a bit of a newbie, but i think you can use patindex for this, but not having any luck with it.
help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks

Create this function

CREATE FUNCTION [dbo].[IsAlpha]
(
@Text varchar(255)
)
RETURNS BIT
AS

BEGIN
DECLARE @Letters VARCHAR(255)
DECLARE @Index INT
DECLARE @Max INT
DECLARE @Pass BIT
SET @Letters = ' abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz'
SET @Max = LEN(@Text)
SET @Index = 0
SET @Pass = 1
WHILE @Index < @Max AND @Pass = 1
BEGIN
SET @Index = @Index + 1
IF NOT @Letters LIKE '%' + SUBSTRING(@Text, @Index, 1) + '%' SET @Pass = 0
END
RETURN(@Pass)
END

--Examples
--SELECT dbo.IsAlpha ('gffdesddgg') Returns 1 - True
--SELECT dbo.IsAlpha ('123gffdes)ddgg') Returns 0 - False

Then do

SELECT Myfield1,Myfield2 etc
FROM MYTABLE
WHERE dbo.IsAlpha(Myfield2) = 0

If the field being interogated contains only alpha charachters it will return 1 if it contains anything else it will return 0

Hope this helps.

DBomrrsm

<snip>
I've got a huge (couple of million rows) table with a field
</snip>
[blue]
Ok, first - great function DBomrrsm. I think UDF's where one of the greatest additions to sql2k, along with partitioned views on federated servers....