Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PasswordRecovery Control XSS Vulnerability

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonathanx

Programmer
Jul 10, 2001
US
Hello,
I am very new to ASP.net and yet I have been given a website to maintain. One of my first tasks is to fix a Cross-site Scripting (XSS) vulnerability in the PasswordRecovery control. It seems that any user can inject JavaScript code into the PasswordRecovery text field and the browser will run it after it does a round trip to the server and back.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. (Please let me know if I need to provide any coding examples.)

Hi Mark,
I have added the ValidateRequest="true" property in the page declaration at the beginning of the code, but it did not seem to work. I could still inject javascript code into the PasswordRecovery control text field.

<%@ Page Language="C#" ValidateRequest="true" MasterPageFile="~/Main.master" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="PasswordRecovery.aspx.cs" Inherits="_PasswordRecovery" StylesheetTheme="Basic" %>

I am now trying to use the "OnVerifyingAnswer" control property and write a method that will encode the input. I am, however, having trouble capturing the input. Am I on the right track?

Hi Mark, after a grueling week of trying different things with my limited knowledge of ASP.net and C#, I was able to figure out a solution, but I wanted to get an opinion on it.

I have included the following code in the Page_Load method:
passwordrecovery1.UserName = Server.HtmlEncode(passwordrecovery1.UserName.ToString());