Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Passing Parameters

Status
Not open for further replies.

joetadalan

Programmer
Oct 3, 2002
US
I am new to ColdFusion and this is my problem -

I have created a login screen -
User Name
Password
Confirm Password

Once that has been Validated -
I bring up a new information screen - general information
with the User Name being brought over as a display only field -

The problem occurs when I try and validate the data entered - I lose the UserName field -

Here is part of the code -
<FORM ACTION=&quot;submit2.cfm?UserName=#UserName#&quot; method=POST>
<PRE>
<cfoutput>
<input type=&quot;hidden&quot; name=&quot;UserName&quot; Value=&quot;#UserName#&quot;>
<b>User Name: #URL.UserName#</b><br><br>
</cfoutput>

Title: <select Name=&quot;prefix&quot; Value=&quot;<cfoutput>#form.prefix#</cfoutput>&quot;>
<option>MR.
<option>MRS.
<Option>Ms.
<Option>Miss
</select>
First Name: <input type=&quot;text&quot; NAME=&quot;FirstName&quot; Size=&quot;10&quot; MaxLength=&quot;25&quot; Value=&quot;<cfoutput>#form.FirstName#</cfoutput>&quot;> M.I.: <input type=&quot;text&quot; Name=&quot;MiddleName&quot; size=&quot;1&quot; MaxLength=&quot;1&quot; Value=&quot;<CFOUTPUT>#form.MiddleName#</CFOUTPUT>&quot;> Last Name:<input type=&quot;text&quot; NAME=&quot;LastName&quot; size=&quot;15&quot; MaxLength=&quot;30&quot; Value=&quot;<CFOUTPUT>#form.LastName#</CFOUTPUT>&quot;>
Suffix: <input type=&quot;text&quot; NAME=&quot;Suffix&quot; size=&quot;2&quot; MaxLength=&quot;2&quot; Value=&quot;<CFOUTPUT>#form.Suffix#</CFOUTPUT>&quot;>
<p>

<b>Mailing Address:</b>
Address Information is for informational purposes only and is not required.<br>