Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

passing form objects in a function

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgroove

Programmer
Jul 9, 2001
US
I am not very good with javascript but I have kludged some javascript togethter to make a function that works well, but I need to make it more general by being able to pass it the form elements so that I don't have to write ten seperate functions of the same code. I think that there is a way to pass the form objects but am having a difficult time making it work. Here is what I have :

Code:
<script language=&quot;JavaScript&quot;>
<!--
    function ChangeCharacter() {
		MAX_LENGTH = 2000;
		document.frmStep3.txtRemaining.value= 2000 - document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.lenght;
		if ( ( document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value  == &quot;&quot; ) || ( document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value.length == 0 )  ) {
        	remainingCharacters = MAX_LENGTH;
        	document.frmStep3.txtRemaining.value = remainingCharacters;
      	} else {
        	remainingCharacters  = MAX_LENGTH - (document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value.length);
      	}
      	if ( document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value < (MAX_LENGTH + 1) ) {
      	}
      	if ( ( document.frmStep3.txtRemaining.value < 0 ) ) {
        	document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value = document.frmStep3.txtLocationDirections.value.substring(0,MAX_LENGTH);
        	document.frmStep3.txtRemaining.value = 0;
        	alert(&quot;Maximum message length reached. Your message has been truncated at &quot; + MAX_LENGTH + &quot;  characters.&quot;);
      	}
    }
//-->
</script>

then in the HTML