Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Passing by reference

Status
Not open for further replies.

Essendry

IS-IT--Management
Nov 13, 2002
GB
Can anyone help me with a query? I need to use the passing by reference mechanism of c++ to pass back the results of a function. I am new to C++ and am having diffuculty achieving this. Does anyone have a snippit of code and a brief explanation on how it works?

[tt]void swapInts( int& item1, int& item2 )
{
int temp = item1;
item1 = item2;
item2 = temp;
}
[/tt]

When you call that function as:

[tt]swapInts( x, y );[/tt]

since the parameters are passed by reference, any changes made to them in the function are made to the actual parameters passed in. In this case, the values of x and y will be swapped.

The easiest way to think about references is that they are simply alternate names for other variables. In the above example, when the function is called, item1 becomes another name for x and item2 becomes another name for y.

By reference.

Passing the address of the variable. Refering to the address of the variable in memory. since the address is passed we are manipulating the original. The asterisk will reference the address of the first item in an array (string, array list). The ampersand will reference the address of the item if it is of a singular nature.

char string [] = "string";
int x = 1;
char c = "c";

*string = the address of the first character in the
string -> "s". basically the address of the
string.

&string [3] = the address of the fourth character in the
string.

&x = the address of the x value.
&c = the address of the c value.

&string = not permissable since the string is stored in
more than one memory space. we are in effect