Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

passing a parameter to a VB2005 form

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpowe60

Programmer
Mar 4, 2009
US
I am a new VB2005 programmer...learning this ojt. i use a VFP application that passes a report file name to crystal, version 8.5 and 10. The statement that I used was
do form rptin_report with "report file name". I have created a vb2005 form to display a cr2008 report. when I hard code the reportname in the reportsoource field, the report get displayed no problem. What I need to do is to have this form accept any cr2008 report name based upon the report selection user is currently running. I have th following statement in VFP is run /N display_reports.exe I can't figure out two items though they are probably staring at me..the first is how do i include the reprot name after the .exe and 2)on the Vb side, where/how do I tell VB where to picked up the variable and process the report..

any comments/suggestions/pointing me to any documentation greatly appreciated

thank you in advance

I also use vfp,vba,and vbs
and ask a similar question some time back
thread707-1535260

This old world keeps spinning round - It's a wonder tall trees ain't layin' down

If I understand correctly, you wish to allow your user to browse for reports, loading their selected reports. Try the following code
Code:
        'Open File Dialog
        Dim ofd As New OpenFileDialog
        ofd.Filter = "Crystal Reports files (*.rpt)|*.rpt"
        ofd.ShowDialog()

'Report Document
        If ofd.FileName <> "" Then
            Dim MyReportDocument As New CrystalDecisions.CrystalReports.Engine.ReportDocument
            MyReportDocument.Load(ofd.FileName)