Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pass variable from page to form textbox on another page? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

lionelbrown

Programmer
Apr 9, 2001
US
I'm a VB programmer just starting to learn asp, etc. I'm starting with Frontpage and moving on to Interdev after that, so if I should you can solve my issue using either product, I would greatly appreciate it!

MY QUESTION:
I've created an html page with a hover button that opens my Order.asp (contains an order form) page. I want to click the button and open the order page with a value passed into a textbox on the order form. I've tried using the <url>?<key=value> and then requesting the value on the order page, but I've run into several issues. Frontpage stomps all over my edits to the automatically generated asp form code. Any suggestions on the best way to do this? Where in the order page should I put the code to retrieve the passed value?

My web is being run on IIS, and I'm using Frontpage 2000. My form is using Post.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

Not sure what Exactly you are looking for, but if you just want the info from a submitted form on a previous page to be able to be automatically put in as values on the form on the next page, all you need to do is request the values from the first form, then enter those variables as values for the second form:

--------------page1.asp--------------
<form action=&quot;page2.asp&quot; method=&quot;post&quot;>
First Name: <input type=&quot;text&quot; name=&quot;fname&quot;><br>
Last Name: <input type=&quot;text&quot; name=&quot;lname&quot;><Br>