Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Parameter - defining value for all records

Status
Not open for further replies.

ddamsgaard

Technical User
Jun 30, 2003
I'm fairly new to Crystal.

Here's what I'd like to do. Suppose I have a field called Region with values 'North', 'South', 'East' and 'West'.

I'd like to create a parameter field to select, let's say, the 'East' region. Actually, I've done this part and it works fine. What I'd really like is to add a parameter value like 'All' which would run the report without any selection criteria. That is, from the parameter dialog box, I want to be able to either run the complete report or select a single region to run.

I've looked through the book 'Crystal Reports - The Complete Reference' and I don't see right off how to do this.

Thanks in advance.

Use the formula workshop to modify your selection criteria as follows..
{?Region} = "ALL" or
{Table.Region} = {?Region}

If you have additional selection criteria you need to bracket the above with the other clauses and then use AND

You can't do this in the Select Expert - it is too complex for it to display. The formula editor is where you have to do this

If you are using a number or date parameter you have to identify a value that is treated as "ALL". Then you can't select that value if it is in the database.

In the above, you can't find a region called "ALL" as that is now treated separately

Editor and Publisher of Crystal Clear

First off, thanks for your reply.

I confess I'm not sure I understand. In my original question, I talked about 'Region' with values 'North', etc. I did that to simplify the question.