Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pagemaker 6.5 viability nowadays

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmusicant

Programmer
Mar 29, 2005
US
I came here for some Visual FoxPro help, but noticed a Pagemaker forum, a surprise! I studied Pagemaker 5.0 at a community college some 20 years ago, hoping to develop a DTP home business, buying an HP4M printer. Well, I got decent, got a job or two but it never got off the ground, eventually got into FoxPro programming. However, I still use Pagemaker (upgraded to 6.5), and have files numbering in the hundreds, some of which I come back to.

In another forum people were chiding me for staying with Pagemaker. After all, I can't run it in Windows 7 (not without running a special Windows XP within it), so I use it on my Windows XP machines. The reasons I don't want to move to another DTP programs are the obvious:

1. I have a ton of files I can and do go back to form time to time.
2. I know Pagemaker fairly well, well enough to produce what I want, exactly how I want. Of course, there's a lot I don't know, but I know a lot of basic stuff.

People told me I should get a newer program, one I can use in the newer operating systems. However, aside from the learning curve I'm doubtful that I can move my Pagemaker 6.5 files over to the new program. Is it possible to do that? How do you people deal with the legacy aspects of Pagemaker?

I know what it must feel like for you and there surely is no 100% easy AND cheap solution AND one without a learning curve.
OS incompatibility is a b*tch.

You might think about getting Indesign CS6.

CS6 can open PageMaker files, albeit with a bit of loss, depending on the structure of your files: