Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Page Can not be displayed!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 28, 2004
US
Hello Guys

I am new with IIS.. I have installed IIS on My machine
Operating System : Windows XP Professinal

IIS Server is running and now i when i try to write open from browser

i have error paga cannot be displyed...

Is anyone knows how to resolve this situation.

Thanks
AD

There are a host of things that need to be checked to insure that your IIS page is setup correctly. The most obvious is to make sure that the correct document name is inside of the "Documents" box of the web site's properties. Usually there will be something like "index.htm", or "default.htm" etc. so if you are using, let's say, a PHP web page, and the first page was named "index.php", then you would have to put "index.php" at the top of the list under the document properties. You will need to provide more information before anybody can move further in helping you to determine what your problem is. For instance, what kind of page is it (htm,asp, php, cgi, etc)?

Also, have you tried entering 127.0.0.1, rather than "localhost"? Sometimes, but not very often, this has given me problems.

LF

"As far as the laws of mathematics refer to reality, they are not certain; as far as they are certain, they do not refer to reality."--Albert Einstein

Thanks for your reply

Let me give you more in detail...
I am trying to open ASP or html pages from IIS
After i install IIS I open the IIS and went into Website --> Default website folder and i am trying to open Anyfiles (life iisstart.asp,localstart.asp with Internate Browser it says page can't displayed...