Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PABX Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

port27374

Technical User
Feb 14, 2004
hi all -

unfortunately im a real newbie when it comes to telephone systems - im still trying to figure out the basics (im more of a PC/Network Support guy) - so if anyone has any articles or websites they can point me to, to learn about the basics of phone systems and VoIP i would be grateful -

rightyo - question: a friend has requested a new phone system in a small office, i believe he is trying to set up a very small call centre with 5 people manning 1 phone each - he has 1 external incoming line, and he basically has asked for a solution whereby if a call comes in it goes to the first phone (assuming the phones are somehow prioritised 1-5)... if the 1st is busy then it automatically routes it to the 2nd and so on... he also wants to be able to manually switch the call to another phone on the telephone system, call conferencing is a possible requirement but not a necessity, and he needs to be able to give outgoing call access to phones which are not engaged on incoming calls - he has also stated that if all phones are busy he would like to give the caller a mandatory "leave a message" avenue. hes budget for this project including cost of phones/equipment and cabling = £700 UK pounds. (about $1200)

Correct me if i am wrong but the best solution here would be a PABX?
Questions:
1) what BRAND/TYPE of phone would be suitable for this scale? (No need for cordless)
2) Besides the phones what other equipment will be required?