Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Overloading - Constructor 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

UnityKing

Programmer
Dec 12, 2004
CA
Simple question, Hard Awnser :

1) Seg is my class

class seg {
... nanan anan anan
}

2) i do

seg Dot[20];

i want to have 20 in a variable
i tryed [] overloading and didnt work
and constructor wont be usefull ( seg Dot[20] = {20,20,20,20,20, etc...})

so how coud i get the Bound of the array when its declared.

What i want to do,
im just a c++ newbie (im good in vB), i want to make a graph (working on the shortest path algorthim)
since the max number of segments that start from a point cant be larger than the Number of Plot - 1 i want to declare a Dynamic array with will be the optimal size ( int *Segment, Segment = new int [NumberOfPlot-1] ). Got it ?...no ok well if u understand me or not just add a reply ...please

Thanks
Guillaume

i want to have 20 in a variable
What's this variable? You have array of 20 class seg variables. They are not integers.
Make seg::seg(int) constructor then initialize seg[] with {20, 20, ... }.
i tryed [] overloading...
Why?

A graph is an array of nodes, a node to another node u have a segment. I want to delacre a graph, with will contain an array of POSSIBLE link. supose that u have 20 nodes in a graph, there is (NBOFNODES - 1) possibles links, since a link to it self is not really important.

Im trying to overloard, or initalise a class with will the proper possibles number of segments. theres the class :

class seg{

int *Links;
seg()
~seg()
};

seg::seg(){

Links = new int [(*This->Ubound)-1] // Dynamic array the size of the array of the class

}
seg::~seg(){

Delete [] Links
}