Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Overcome linker error

Status
Not open for further replies.

raydona

Programmer
May 12, 2005
GB
Hi,
Please bear with me, I am new to Visual C++.Net. I have included two projects to a blank solution, one a static class library (named Vending Machine Library), the other a Windows Forms Application (named Vending Machine Controls). In the property pages of the Forms Application, in General under C/C++ folder of Configuration Properties I have typed the relative path to the static library folder:
../ Vending Machine Library
Also under Configuration Properties, under Linker folder, under Input, for Additional Dependencies I have typed the relative path to the Debug build of the static library folder:
../ Vending Machine Library /Debug/ Vending Machine Library.lib
Despite all this I get the linker error: “fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '../Vending.obj' Vending Machine Controls. I have no idea what the error means and how to rectify it. I wonder if anyone has any suggestions? I would be very grateful.

The problem is that the directory structure is 2 levels
Code:
vending library
+--Debug
   +--xxx.obj
   +--xxx.lib
+--Release
   +--xxx.obj
   +--xxx.lib
other program
+--Debug
   +--other.obj   
+--Release
   +--other.obj
You're one level out. The easy way is to remove your relative include and change the project dependencies. Say that other program depends on library. This will get Visual studio to put in the correct relative path.