Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Organizing Tracking projects/tasks/deliverables

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmtech

IS-IT--Management
Mar 10, 2012
US
Hello everyone. I am just getting started on my Project Management journey and really could use some help getting organized using the best tools I can.

Primarily, sales and projects are housed in Maximizer CRM and is expected to be used for both project tracking and task assignment. If anyone has used Maximizer CRM, you may agree that using it in this fashion can be a bit clunky, mostly with the note system. I run into the most trouble with Max trying to categorize each note, followup, project issue, and task in a meaningful manor, but also making it easy to find. By the time the project starts there is already a very long list of individual notes where their importance can get lost in the mix. With this, I'm having a hard time finding a balance between providing enough details on whats going on with the project or everyone to see, but not including too much such that the important details get lost. Combine this with e-mail communications and contacts spread across multiple address book entries and it starts to get really scary.

Additionally, sub-tasks tasks for these projects can be programming projects that need their own specifications where a separate bug/task management software is used. Issues have arisen with this since those threads have turned into conversation threads instead of bug trackers again leading to almost too much information.