Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

oracle year calculation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

FALCONSEYE

Programmer
Jul 30, 2004
US
I am still learning Oracle. I am trying to determine if a given date is less than 2 years from sysdate. Is this a valid statement or is there a better way of doing this?

select (to_date(sysdate) - to_date('01/01/2008','dd/mm/yyyy'))/365 yearsBetween from dual;

thanks

Hi,
If for use in a where clause, then try:

where Table.DateField < (Sysdate - 730.5)

(Assumes an actual Date type field in the database, otherise use to_date(Table.DateField) -
Note: Sysdate is already in Date format, so the function is not needed.

[profile]

To Paraphrase:"The Help you get is proportional to the Help you give.."

That is close, provided you can afford to ignore leap years. Another approach might be something like
Code:
SELECT months_between(SYSDATE, your_date_here)/12 
    AS yearsBetween 
  FROM dual;

And - since you are learning Oracle - here is a different approach that may introduce you to several new useful concepts:
Code:
SELECT DECODE(SIGN(SYSDATE + INTERVAL '2' YEAR - your_date_here), 
              1, 'Less than 2 years', 
              0, 'Exactly 2 years', 
             -1, 'More than 2 years') AS relative_to_2_years
  FROM dual;
Note that this assumes that you are only looking at dates in the future. If you are looking for dates within two years before or after the current date, we will need to change the queries a bit.

OK, another thing about Oracle is that sometimes you have to tell it you're passing in a date! Try
Code:
SELECT DECODE(SIGN(SYSDATE + INTERVAL '2' YEAR - TO_DATE('15-aug-2005','DD-mon-YYYY') ),