Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oracle or MCIPT ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mihiwa

Technical User
Jan 26, 2010
US
Hi everyone
I am interested in obtaining an Oracle certification or MS certification (MSCE, MSCA or MCITP) but do not know where to begin. I am fairly new to this but I’d like to pursue a career. I would really appreciate it if someone could just point me into the right direction and help me get started. I know Oracle Cert and MS Cert are totally different but I am ready to put in the work to obtain this incredible certification or complete a bachelor degree. I plan on getting a degree but I want to start with this. Please help me decide. Also, which one is worth full as now and future market?
Thanks

I know Oracle Cert and MS Cert are totally different

Understatement of the year.

You're looking at either a database administrator certification or a systems administrator certification. They're totally different. Here are some key points to keep in mind:

First, certifications are not degrees. With a degree you go to school, learn how to do something, then use that to get in the door. Certifications are supposed to be validation of your knowledge and work experience. The normal progression is you get a degree, then get a job in the field. With certifications you get the job experience then get the cert.

Secondly, DBA and SA work is completely different. Which is it that you are doing now? Which is it that you are more interested in doing? Only you can decide what career path is right for you. If you're not happy with the career path that you choose then nothing else matters.