Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oracle dynamic PL-SQL and SQL*Plus

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonofsa

Programmer
Jul 9, 2013
US
I am new to Oracle and would greatly appreciate any help with this.

I am working on a Cobol CICS project where users enter SQL*Plus statements and submit for execution via Batch or On-line mode. My Batch mode works perfectly with control breaks, headers and footers. My problem is accomplishing this in an on-line mode, i.e. execute the SQL*Plus query dynamically and returning the result set for screen display via a cursor (ref cursor). From the research I've done so far, I've come upon some examples using REF CURSOR through a PL-SQL function in conjunction with SQL*Plus (report formatting) - via dynamic SQL. I've seen no Cobol examples using this method - does anyone know how?

Thank you
Rick

Frederico,

Thank you for your response. I have been through this link but have not found what I've been looking for. Here's what I want to accomplish using Cobol on the Mainframe dynamically:

VARIABLE rc REFCURSOR
BEGIN
OPEN :rc FOR SELECT DEPARTMENT_NAME, LAST_NAME, SALARY
FROM EMP_DETAILS_VIEW
WHERE SALARY > 12000
ORDER BY DEPARTMENT_NAME, LAST_NAME;
END;
/

PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

SET PAGESIZE 100 FEEDBACK OFF
TTITLE LEFT '*** Departmental Salary Bill ***' SKIP 2
COLUMN SALARY FORMAT $999,990.99 HEADING 'Salary'
COLUMN DEPARTMENT_NAME HEADING 'Department'
COLUMN LAST_NAME HEADING 'Employee'
COMPUTE SUM LABEL 'Subtotal:' OF SALARY ON DEPARTMENT_NAME
COMPUTE SUM LABEL 'Total:' OF SALARY ON REPORT
BREAK ON DEPARTMENT_NAME SKIP 1 ON REPORT SKIP 1
PRINT rc

Sonofsa,