Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oracle DBA’s dos and don’ts 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrzejek

Programmer
Jan 10, 2006
US
I am a programmer who uses Oracle as my DB. I have a great relations with my Data Base Administrators, but I would like to know what are the 'do's and 'do not's as far as DBA responsibilities.

I know some of the 'do's (I hope I am correct here): DB back-ups, upgrades, copying data from production to test/development environment, etc.

And some of the 'do not's (I guess those will be mine – as a programmer - responsibilities): create new / modify existing tables in test environment, setting PK, FK, data constrains, etc.

In order to better do my job, I would like to find out what exactly is DBA’s job so I can communicate better, do my job better, take care of my duties instead of dumping them on DBA (it happens, and they are too nice to tell me: 'It's your job'), etc.

And if there are some places on the Web that state what is what and who does it, or 'even though you can - you never, ever do that because...' (rebuild production table containing SDO_GEOMETRY field with a lot of records, i.e. re-order fields, just a guess here), that would be great, too.

Oracle DBAs, would you share the secrets of your job?

Have fun.

---- Andy

A bus station is where a bus stops. A train station is where a train stops. On my desk, I have a work station.

Each company, and sometimes groups within companies, have their own delineatio of responsiblities. Here are some of the "grey areas":

Performance tuning of SQL
Creation of indexes
DDL and/or DDL approval
Writing and maintenance of stored procedures and triggers