Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oracle Connection 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

codedog

Programmer
May 31, 2001
US
This is probably a dumb question, but I'm new to VB, MS Access 2000 and Oracle 8i. I am working on an application that uses an Oracle database on a server with Access forms used as the front end and VBA as the programming. If I have the acronyms right, we're going ODBC with ADO controls. I need to be able to Connect to the Oracle server via VBA but have been unable to make a persistent connection. When I "Open" the connection I get no errors, but even though I supply the DSN, user ID, and password, as soon as I open a form using an Oracle table, the Oracle dialog box pops up and asks for my password. Any suggestions, thoughts, or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I have the same problem....here is my code

Set wrk_spc = DBEngine.Workspaces(0)
Set db = wrk_spc.OpenDatabase("", False, False, "ODBC; DSN=****;USR=*****;PWD=******")

can anyone fix this or post better code...thanks

I had the same problem and apparently there's a bug in the Microsoft Oracle drivers.

I was able to get around the prompt for userID and password by creating a pass-through query that runs in the on load event for my form. This query then passes all the connection information in the the query properties. This might be a strange workaround but it works very well.