Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Oracle and Access Data Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

moepower1

Programmer
Dec 13, 2000
US
I have a need to import data from an Oracle table into an existing Access table with duplicate structure. I don't want to use the link feature because I want to protect the Oracle DB from Access users and I need the Oracle data to merge with existing data in Access. Everytime I do a "Get External Data", Access creates a new table. Is there anyway around this?

I'm new to Access so please bare with me if this question is too simple.

Thanks

Hi,
The only way to do this is to link the table, then revoke privilege from it for anyone who shouldn't have access to it. You would do this from the menu Tools->Security->User and Group (Permissions/Accounts). Rob Marriott
robert_a_marriott@yahoo.com

Hire me! Full-time, contract, whatever...shhh don't let my current employer know I said that.

Rob,

If I use the "link" option, 1) could I differentiate what data was entered in Access and what data came from Oracle?

2) If I have new data from Oracle, can the link update the Access table without overwriting the data entered manually thru Access?

3) Is it possbile to create a duplicate table in Access and write a query to pull the information from Oracle and insert them into the Access table?

Thanks a million,