Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Options for moving forward from my current helpdesk job 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

austkain

Programmer
Apr 23, 2013
AU
Hi guys, I'm Kain, 26 years old, living in Sydney, Australia. I need some help in deciding my future employment options and approach.

My highest qualification:

Masters Degree in Information Technology from Sydney.

Experience:

I'm currently doing full-time Level 2 Helpdesk support job at a well-known Australian company since two years. Before that I was a freelance web designer. And before that I worked in casual part time jobs at hotels and stuff.

Now long story short, I am sick of my current job, the pay is below average as well. I feel I am qualified enough to find a better job in Sydney. I've done some .NET development as well and also some Software Testing but I don't have any professional experience in either of them.

I need some advise in choosing and approaching a better career path forward. I will appreciate any kind of help posted here. <stressed out>

It seems to me that a master's degree is for a management track. What are you interested in? A career is always more enjoyable when you're doing something you like to do.

Tom

At a previous company, the help desk personnel also did basic "triage" troubleshooting of network and server problems. If you have interest, you could branch out into Infrastructure support and then maybe into infrastructure design and development.

====================================
Sometimes the grass is greener on the other side because there is more manure there - original.

Why are you "sick of" you current job? Usually this is Not primarliy $.