Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Optional Tables

Status
Not open for further replies.

hahsia

Programmer
May 15, 2003
SG
Hi,

I'm quite new to Accpac so i'm hoping for some wise advice from everybody here.

I heard about optional tables & optional fields available in Accpac, could anyone briefly explain how to use it?

My client wanted to maintain an Item Desccription that is different for different customer. Any idea if i could use the optional table/ field facilities for this?

I'm using Accpac Advantage Series 5.2.
Thanks In Advance.

Not sure what you are trying to do. But it seems that you would like to have a different descriptions for a some customers. But it is actually the same part. Hope I am right. If so,

1. Create a price list for all the customers that need different descriptions.
2. Copy the item pricing
3. Change the description for the price list you created.
4. Assign this price list to the customers that need it.

I don't think you want to use the optional fields, b/c then you need to mofify Crystal Reports to print conditionally the optional field if it is Customer X or Y.

Carlos
(310) 384-8511

Hi Carlos,

You a right.
Actually my user wanted to have an extended Item Description module where they can input Customer Item Description.

e.g

Item Code = A1011
Desc = Accer Notebook

For Customer A, the Item Description should be Accer Notebook ABC but to Customer B, it should be Accer Notebook DEF.

These customer Item description must be printed in their DO/Invoice not much on Internal Report as the item is still known as just Accer Notebook to my customer.