Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Opinions on Ghosting Citrix... 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

MattWray

Technical User
Nov 2, 2001
US
I am pretty new with Citrix.
That being said, what are some experiences with Ghost and Citrix?
We have 3 Citrix servers. From the Install, they have not been too trustworthy. I would like to reload them one at a time, so I know what is in them and what was done (we had a third party do the install). One of my bosses does not like this idea. He would like to get one of the servers running good and ghost it back onto the others. This doesn't sound, to me, like it would work.
I've read that they shouldn't be part of a Domain, due to SIDs and that they shouldn't have any published Apps.
My thought is to get another server, do a clean load, and then use this as the Ghost image.
Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Matt Wray
MCSE, MCSA, MCP, CCNA

if you have a server with mirrored drives, then maybe you can remove one from the mirror set, and use it for create another one.
Before the things, you can create a new HW profile without network, and disable SNMP, Networking service on the server. Then you can ghost, or remove the HDD and build a new server.

The choice is depend on your server how equivalent with eachother.
Balazs

I have used ghost to clone servers, and it works quite successfully, however you need GHOSTWALKER to change the SIDS of each server.

Ghosting works best if all your hardware is IDENTICAL! that is, cards in the same slots and everything.