Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Opinion of SC to LC Adapter? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

sfrank8734

IS-IT--Management
Jan 10, 2003
US
I'm not a fiber expert, most of my stuff is nice multimode. At a location we acquired, the previous business owners got single mode fiber installed for a "between two buildings" run (maybe 300 feet?).

Now we're getting to the point where we want to upgrade networking equipment, and everything nowadays has LC connections, rather than the older Cisco gear we have the the SC connectors. The vendor (Dell in this case) is recommending we reterminate the existing single mode fiber with LC connectors. Of course, that's easy for them to ask, but is it really necessary? They cited "stability" yet I find dozens of vendors online selling such items.

I would love a second opinion--I assume there are many people who run into older fiber like this and don't want to reterm or replace, so this seems perfectly viable to me. Does anyway have opinions?

I attached a URL of a 60 second Youtube clip I found with a quick google search of such an adapter. It's not intended as an ad for the company, but explained exactly the problem I'm looking to solve.

Thanks!

- S

Reterminating is probably the best thing you can do. That being said, we have had exactly the same issue in our data center and have used adapters 100's of times without issue. We have also used fiber patch cables with LC at one end and SC at the other (as well as other types) again without issue.
We get most of ours from Graybar, but most cable suppliers have them. Graybar usually makes us patch cables to length as we need them, which makes installation easier and neater.