Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

opening database 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

frl

Technical User
Jul 28, 2003
US
Hi,
I am new to domino administration. I have a following question. We have two domino 5.0.12 servers. We put a replica of one database to the other server under the same name for a folder: \notes\data\GS.
The problem is users cannot see this new folder when they select Databse-->Open. They just see other folders and not the new one in the open database window.How can I put the new folder in the list?

Thanks in advance

Are you sure that the new replica has the "List in Open DB dialog" checked ?

Pascal.

Yes it has check for both list in database catalog and show in open database dialog.
I administer this server remotly as it is in distant location. When I log on to server remotly I can see the new folder in the open dialog window if i try to open it on the server (with administrator).
But I can not open it if I try to open the database from my computer&Lotus Notes. When I write the server name in the server window, then I get just the list of DB and folder without the new folder.

It may sound stupid, but I suspect that this is a case of restarting the Domino server.

Pascal.

Thanks Pascal,
you were right. I restarted the Domino server and it works now.
Can I ask you one other thing. I am responsible for this remote server for a short time (I didnt install it) and I am learning Domino on the fly as I worked with Exchange before.
When I run a "load notes" command on this remote server it starts just the Welcome page without Workspace, buttons for replicator.... So I have problems working there. I use mostly console commands that I learned.