Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Open word document in Access 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

aradha

Technical User
Dec 4, 2002
AU
Please help me. I have lot of templates in word which I would like to open when selected from a list box. I am new to access and would like help in writing the code for this. Thank you very much in advance.

Hi aradha,

You didnt mention how you want to launch the templates so I am assuming a command button.

Once the user makes their selection in your list box, they will push the command button to launch the selected Word template.

So, here is a way to do this.

Behind the command button, in a OnClick event, we need to put some code like this: (I am noting the code as I write it)

'****begin code*****
Private Sub Command2_Click()
Dim oApp As Object '<--declare variable

Select Case Me.List0 '<--using the Select Case is easier to me than using a bunch of If...Then statements
'Me.List0 is my demo listbox

Case &quot;word1&quot; '<---my first word doc listing in the listbox

Set oApp = CreateObject(&quot;Word.Application&quot;) '<---create Word object
oApp.Visible = True '<---make Word visible
oApp.Activate '<---Activate Word Doc
'Open document
oApp.Documents.Add Template:=&quot;\\gaf5142tnscs001\shared\electronic interfaces\ESCMAD\letters\Agreement Cover Letter.dot&quot; '<---this is the location of your documents. mine are on a share drive.
'your documents could be on your local drive &quot;c:\word\test.doc&quot;

Set oApp = Nothing <---close word app

'see notes above and duplicate below for each word doc

Case &quot;word2&quot;

Set oApp = CreateObject(&quot;Word.Application&quot;)
oApp.Visible = True
oApp.Activate
'Open document