Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Online questionnaire data input problems 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

trolldude

Technical User
Apr 29, 2004
GB
I have written an online feedback questionnaire that has 13 pages. Each page has some multi choice answers to questions using radio buttons and also a text input form element for comments. The radio buttons are valued to indicate the answer value 1,2,3,4,5 or 6 that correspond to the headings of each radio button column.

I have 2 problems that I am struggling with, any help would be very welcome.
I am new to Coldfusion so please bear with me and some possibly strange code.

QUESTIONS

How can I stop data being overwritten by subsequent logins using the same UserName and Recipient name?
How can I allow users to flip through or bypass pages without them causing data to be entered in the DB in the event that they want to input data in more than 1 session or the session crashes part way through?

MY CODE EXPLAINED

The user registers their full name and a UserName and Password that is entered in to users table in an MS Access DB.
The User then logs in and selects a recipient to complete the feedback questionnaire about.

The first question page of the questionnaire uses the User name (a session variable from login) and the Recipients name (a session variable from a drop down menu selection) to find the database 'AnswerId' value for the combination of User Name and Recipients name. That 'AnswerID' is then set as session variable that the rest of the pages use to find the database row to enter the answer data from each form.

The form sends the data to the next page where the code enters it into the data base.

PROBLEMS