Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

One domain, three PDCs, WAN -- ??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 17, 1999
US
Visit site
I'm kind of new at this . . . Our company has three offices; one main office with an NT 4.0 server and 6 Win98 machines, and two branches with NT 4.0 PDCs and three Win98 machines. We would like all three offices to be able to see each other over an ISDN WAN. We occasionally share large files (6-8 MB), but mostly it will be used to share smaller files (typical MS Office stuff). <br>
<br>
We've just installed NT servers in the two branch offices in the past month, and I set them up as PDCS with the same domain name. The server in the branch office, which a consultant set up for us last year when we moved from a home office, is set up as a stand-alone server. A consultant in the most distant branch office wants me to re-install NT in the main office to set it up as a PDC so we can use DHCP, and then set up trust relationships with the other servers. <br>
<br>
Among my many questions is this: Is this the best way to go about this? We use Netopia ISDN routers to handle DHCP duties right now, so I'm not sure I understand why they can't continue handle those duties. I'm probably going to go ahead and reinstall this weekend, but I wanted to see if I could get some feedback on this and other issues to consider. Many thanks.