Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

OLE question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgarnick

Programmer
Feb 16, 2000
US
Visit site
I am new to OLE--I have a table of buildings and one of the fields is called inventory. I have made this field type OLE object. Only a couple of the buildings have inventory and the inventory lists are Word files. I would like to LINK these Word files to Access. I have a form that displays the buildings information and I would like perhaps a command button that would call up the inventory file IF it exists. I have inserted the correct path and file in the table for the buildings that have inventory files. But so far I have not been able to figure out how to best handle the linking. I tried following Help by creating a bound object frame and inserting the file on the appropriate record, but the control shows for every record. I've tried creating a text box with the control source being the inventory field, but I don't know how to use the text box to call up the file ?? I'm missing something here and any help would be appreciated--thanks!

jgarnick
jgarnick@aol.com