Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Old Parts

Status
Not open for further replies.

iolair

IS-IT--Management
Oct 28, 2002
US
I'm a SysAdmin who has been using an old 486-66 with Norton Utilities 8 and MS-DOS 6 installed. The Norton Utilities have made me look like a hero several times, especially since a lot of my users still use 3.5" floppy disks, and I sometimes have to recover files for them from the floppies. As the 486 is 16 years old, I'm looking for a replacement hard drive to have as a backup, in case the current one should ever fail. (Which it will some day). Anyone have a source for an older IDE hard drive, somewhere in the 400MB - 1GB range? I'd like it to be new, not remanufactured or refurbished. I haven't been able to find a Windows' program that comes even close to the Norton Utilities. And I don't think Linux has any utilities like that either. TIA.

Iolair MacWalter
Director of IT

It is very unlikely that you will find anything that meets your spec in the "new" category. I recall getting a 1GB drive when they first came out, that would have been back in 1993 or 1994. Since then they have been rapidly replaced by larger and faster drives. Heck, it can be difficult finding a "new" 40GB drive these days.

If you're only going to use it as a backup I'd probably pick up one or two refurbs (so that your backup has a backup), test them and then you'll be set for the next 30 years or so.