Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Old apps SQLConfigDataSource failing on Vista

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittleSmudge

Programmer
Mar 18, 2002
GB
I'm an Access database developer and a client has been running my apps on Windoz 2k - 2k3 for years but they can't get 2k3 licences anymore so we need to get them running on Vista

Standard structure is Access front ends all resident on user's local machines using ODBC to MySQL BackEnd on the server.

There is a DbUpdate app ( an Access database ) which sets up new machines automaticlly. It first checks that ODBC DSN connection exists and if it does not runs
Code:
Private Declare Function SQLConfigDataSource Lib "odbccp32.dll" _
                        (ByVal hwndParent As Long, _
                        ByVal fRequest As Integer, _
                        ByVal lpszDriver As String, _
                        ByVal lpszAttributes As String) As Long

Const ODBC_ADD_SYS_DSN = 4

Public Function CheckDSN

lngResult = SQLConfigDataSource(0, _
                     ODBC_ADD_SYS_DSN, _
                     "MySQL ODBC 3.51 Driver", _
                     "DSN=" & DSNName & Chr(0) & _
                     "Server=" & FGServerName & Chr(0) & _
                     "Database=" & DatabaseName & Chr(0) & _
                     "UseProcForPrepare=Yes" & Chr(0) & _
                     "Description=" & Description & Chr(0) & Chr(0))

However in Vista the SQLConfigDataSource fails to create the DSN

Has anyone else hit this problem ?
Any ideas for a fix ?

G LS