Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Okay to naming database with dots

Status
Not open for further replies.

aspnetvbnetnerd

Programmer
Feb 3, 2008
SE
Is it okay to naming database with dots.
Like Retail.Dev.Solution or is it bad to naming database with dots?

I would avoid it. Use _ (underscore) instead.

"If I were to wake up with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn't be more surprised than I am right now.

I thought the namespace of the application should match the database name.

I'm not an expert by any means. I just know that in my experiences, when you break apart a database name with spaces or dots, it gets a little messy. It also can effect database migrations depending on what the other system is. The name of your application should have no baring on the name of your database. In fact, you do not want to "hard code" your database to your application. Say your database crashes and you have to use your backup database. You want to have to recompile for something like that? no. You'll be too busy trying to get your primary back to worry about a recompile. Database names should be as dynamic as other variables. I have an application that hits 4 different databases depending on the user's selection.

Remember. I'm not an expert, and would welcome any other thoughts on the subject.

"If I were to wake up with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn't be more surprised than I am right now.

For what it's worth, I agree with ousoonerjoe.

Why make things harder on yourself (having to worry about using brackets all the time).

For example....

[tt][blue]Create Database [a.b.c.d.e][/blue][/tt]

or....

[tt][blue]Create Database [Database][/blue][/tt]