Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Offsets, segments, and buffering 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rowmath

Instructor
Jun 3, 2003
US
Man, what a topic. First some background. I am a high school programming teacher. I have some students who have taken QB to new levels (at least in my mind). They are trying to write a game that is graphics intensive and have stumbled across the idea of buffering/double-buffering. I have been trying to help them and get this stuff done, but try as I may I can't get a handle on it. I am familar with pointers in c++ and there seems to be some similarities to buffering. Beyond that I feel like a newbie. Can any one point me to, or send me a tutorial that makes sense of writing to memory in QB?

The only way to directly access memory in QB is via the POKE and PEEK commands.

Most QB programs that use QB double buffering use memcopy routines written in ASM or machine code.

One method I've seen used is to GET a portion of the screen, and write to the memory of the array used to store the GET data, and then PUT it onto the screen.

I assume the reason for double buffering is to help prevent flicker. One way to do help prevent flicker is call WAIT &H3DA, 8 right before drawing the graphics.

I was able to do this and have decent scrolling on a 486 25mhz with a game called Spinball that I wrote about 6 years ago.

You can find the source to this game (and a review) at :

I wish I had some actual double buffering source to give you but it was so long ago and I've lost it...