Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Office 365/Exchange POP/IMAP access

Status
Not open for further replies.

uniopp

Technical User
Oct 7, 2001
JP
I am new to Office 365/Exchange Business Premium/Outlook on Mac and I am not sure how to set it up the way I need.

I am currently managing 5 email accounts on my own domain (web hosting control panel). Each user has pop/imap access with their own username and password.
main-user@mydomain
extra-user1@mydomain
extra-user2@mydomain
extra-user3@mydomain
extra-user4@mydomain

I want to setup my main email account (main-user@mydomain) on Office 365/Exchange and access via Outlook (on Mac, PC, iOS, web, etc) keeping all the devices in sync.

The remaining 4 email accounts need to EITHER stay where they are (on my web hosting control panel with no change) OR move over to my Office 365/Exchange account (without purchasing additional user accounts). The condition for a move to Office 365/Exchange MUST be that each of the 4 users retains a mailbox with pop/imap access (without having admin permissions) that can be accessed from any third party mail apps (non Outlook).

Am I able to keep some emails on my web hosting and just take the main email account over to Office 365/Exchange?
If I move the domain over to Office 365/Exchange I think it will take ALL the email addresses with it and I’m not sure if they can then be setup as I described above.

What are your recommendations for moving my main email address to Office 365/Exchange and ensuing that other 4 users can still use and access their own emails on the same domain?

Any suggestions and setup steps to sort this out would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi there,