Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Office 2003 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

dleggett

Technical User
Feb 28, 2007
US
I am new to installing software through Zenworks. We have computers that have been previously setup with Office2003. This past year we purchased Zenworks 7 Desktop Management. I was wondering if it was possible that although we did not deploy Office2003 with Zenworks if other Office application could be installed. Our management wants Publisher to be installed on all computers, it would be nice if I didn't have to touch all the workstations. Thanks in advance

M$ releases different flavors of the office suite.

If the flavor you manually deployed to your workstations did not have Publisher as an installable option, then you will not have any issues. Just create your MSI application object and enjoy.

However, if your suite did include Publisher, then you will need to tweek the settings in the application object. In the verification options, you will want to have it set to deploy files regardless (no checking, just deploy).

=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+
Brent Schmidt SPOOOOON!!!!! [hippy]
Senior Network Engineer
Keep IT Simple

Thanks for replying Brent. I have tried doing a .MST and Custom Maintenance Wizard, but cannot seem to get the application to install. Zenworks runs the package on the workstation, the screen flashes, then when I go to Start -> Programs -> Microsoft Office, Publisher is not there. Do you have any suggestions or tips?